Search Ask the Dietitian
Gluten Intolerance & Celiac Disease
Where can I find a dietitian who works with people who don't tolerate wheat or gluten?
I own a restaurant in Minneapolis. I have a large group coming on Tuesday and one person has requested a GFML diet'. I am unfamiliar with this and cannot find any information on this type of diet. I have even telephoned several nutritionists in the Twin Cities area and no one has any idea. Do you have any information on this type of diet?
Thank you in advance for your time and effort.
GMML stands for gluten free meal. People who have gluten intolerance cannot eat any wheat, rye or barley. Oatmeal cannot be harvested with equipment that is used with wheat, rye or barley or manufactured in a plant that processes wheat, rye or barley to be considered gluten-free.
I would recommend you evaluate your menu items to help your customer identify foods they can order.
Hello, I'm 32 and have been diagnosed with many allergies, some I knew about others I didn't. One I am concerned about is gluten, the others are both kinds of yeast. I am wondering about what kinds of things I can substitute in my diet for breads and such, any suggestions would be helpful.
Rice, potato or corn flour, buckwheat, soy, tapioca and quinoa are substituted for wheat, rye and barley that contain gluten which are in many foods. Oats are only allowed if they are manufactured in a plant not manufacturing or milling any wheat, rye or barley ingredients. Vegetable protein products including bacon toppings which may contain wheat protein and soy sauce contain gluten as well. I would suggest you contact a registered dietitian for a detailed list and individualized meal plan.
There seems to be a popular notion that yeast in food products causes yeast (candida) infections of the gut. Eating yeast products like bread or bakery products (baker's yeast) or fermented alcoholic beverages like beer (brewer's yeast) does not cause a candida infection in the stomach or intestines. Candida is part of the normal flora on the skin and in the large bowel with no negative effect unless a person is critically ill from another cause. Candida can infect the uterus or bladder as well as thrush in the throat which often accompanies chemotherapy or radiation of the mouth or throat. Candida infections can occur in patients who have had abdominal surgery, organ transplants, HIV / AIDS, suppressed immune systems or people with feeding tubes. Yeast infections can effectively be treated with antifungal medications. I would recommend you discuss a yeast allergy further with your doctor.
Having read your topic on gluten, I have this to share: What little I know of spelt is this--it is an ancient grain, dating back to biblical days. It has gained the interest of the health food community recently. It is low in gluten and may be tolerated by some gluten-sensitive individuals.
Thanks for the information however, spelt is not allowed on celiac nutrition therapy which eliminates gluten. Research indicates it may be easier to digest, but it is closely related to wheat and should not be eaten by people with a gluten intolerance.
With respect to the gluten content of spelt products, how does it compare to other grains and is it allowed in diets for celiac disease? Thanks.
We are coming to Disneyland Florida in July and have a 5-year-old son who has celiac disease. Can you provide any information on US producers / brands of gluten free products or any addresses / email addresses I could contact for stock lists of those products in the Orlando / Disneyland area.
Many thanks in anticipation.
I have sent you a document that lists manufacturers of gluten-free products available in the U.S., but I am not aware of what is available in Florida specifically. I emailed Disney regarding your request for gluten-free foods available at Disney World in Orlando Florida. Will forward email from Disney as soon as I receive it, but am unaware of your vacation dates in the U.S. Would suggest you ask to speak to a Disney World customer service person when you arrive and explain your needs. Also, would suggest you look in local pharmacy or grocery stores (special diet section) for gluten free foods in addition to bringing some non-perishable gluten free foods from your home in the U.K.
Just received a call from Guest Communications at Disney World in Orlando, Florida who offered the following information. There may not be many foods without gluten available at the counter service throughout the park as the foods in these stands are frozen, prepared. Instead, Shawn suggested your best service would be at full service restaurants. He spoke to executive chefs at their full service restaurants who said that while there was no special listing of menu items that are gluten-free, there are vegetable and fruit plates available. Ask to talk to the chef at any restaurant who will be thrilled to come out and speak to you about what you about what your son would eat on a gluten-free nutrition therapy. You may also contact the restaurant manager. Shawn suggested you contact the restaurant a day ahead of time and they could make gluten-free pancakes, waffles or bread for your son's breakfast. If you would like to bring some gluten-free foods into Disney World, just explain to guest relations when you enter that your son is on a gluten-free nutrition therapy. Shawn stated that Disney World would do whatever it takes to accommodate guests on special diets.
Shawn said that Disney World restaurants buy gluten-free flour at Chamberlains Natural Food Products in Orlando. Hope this information makes your visit to Disney World a lot more fun!
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) may contain gluten. HVP has been used as a meat extender or formed into a product to imitate meat.
Special flour with the gluten removed (DP Baking Mix, DP Low Protein Wheat Starch), corn starch or rice flour can be used in place of regular flours. The flours and bread were developed by General Mills; Number one General Mills Boulevard; Golden Valley, Minnesota 55427. Also, some grocery stores carry a gluten-free bread.
I am currently 27 and was diagnosed with celiac at aged 9. A large number of my friends are research / biology / science based and an ongoing argument between us is why celiac is defined as a disease and whether in fact it is not simply an allergy. It has been suggested at times that such things as viruses (produced by the body) are to blame. Essentially we are all guessing and I have seen far too many conflicting viewpoints.
The second aspect is as to a cure. In your opinion, once the reason for it is established, do you consider it a curable ailment or a lifetime affliction? Your input into this would be appreciated and perhaps settle a few raging battles.
As to a cure, none is known at this time and researchers would have to discover what causes the symptoms to prevent the changes seen in the mucous lining of the intestines. These changes decrease absorption of nutrients resulting in diarrhea and malnutrition. Until then, I would highly recommend you follow a gluten free nutrition therapy. Some people tolerate some gluten and by now, you probably know what foods you can eat. Hopefully you are an avid label reader. Luckily since Jan 2006, foods containing wheat must be labeled as such.
I have a few comments on your gluten response. Its symptoms are continuous diarrhea, cramping abdominal pain, weight loss and anemia. These are just some of the possible symptoms and are the most common. However, one may not have these and may have others like constipation. I think you should say these are "possible" symptoms that could include...
Diagnosis may include symptoms and possibly and intestinal biopsy. Here is the current method of diagnosing this condition.
Celiac disease can be screened for with a combination of anti-gliadin (IgA & IgG) and endomysial antibody testing of the blood. It is definitively tested for by a small bowel biopsy, which can be obtained by an endoscopy in the distal duodenum. The patient must be consuming gluten at the time of the tests.
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) from wheat contains gluten. HVP from soy does not contain gluten. Problem is much of the HVP is made from wheat or barley and one usually does not know the source (though the USDA is better at requiring this disclosure than the FDA).
Special flour with the gluten part removed (DP Baking Mix, DP Low Protein Wheat Starch). The U.S. and Canadian celiac societies do not approve of the use of this flour. It is not gluten-free, but only low gluten. Studies using this flour have shown many negative effects with many of the participants dropping out because they can't tolerate it. Only in the U.K., Netherlands and Scandinavia do they permit the use of this flour, but this is due to tradition and not what the medical studies say.
Hope you find this useful and it is always good to see a mention of gluten somewhere, as it is so unknown that many people think it comes from sugar.
There is a gluten-free mailing list at
Yes, some people with gluten intolerance can experience constipation, but this seems to involve very fewer people than experience diarrhea.
Diagnosis may also include an endoscopy (which you mention) where by the doctor inserts a flexible tube with a camera in the mouth to take a biopsy of the intestinal wall. Typically, the villi flatten out in the intestine of people with gluten intolerance. The villi are the absorptive surfaces for nutrients in the intestinal tract and are also responsible for resorbing fluid from waste products prior to excretion.
If you look at your hand with your fingers outspread, that is what your intestinal villi looks like. If you then close the spaces between your fingers so that they are touching, that is what hypertrophied villi with reduced absorptive surfaces looks like in celiac disease.
You are correct in that soybeans do not contain gluten. If hydrolyzed vegetable protein is listed in the ingredient label, without listing the vegetable source, which could be wheat, then HVP is not recommended for celiac nutrition therapy.
Individuals should contact their doctor if they are having any of the above symptoms rather than diagnosing themselves.
My husband has celiac sprue, which is hard for me to cook for. If you have any information on this, I would like to have it. He can't have anything with wheat, oat, rye or barley.
A lot of foods contain gluten and some are not obvious. Bread, cake and baking mixes, pie crusts, gravy and seasoning mixes, pancakes, waffles, canned chili and soups, canned entrees and packaged rice mixes all contain some gluten. Even small amounts of regular flour such as the flour used to bread meat or fish could cause diarrhea. A person with celiac disease must carefully read all labels and look for hidden sources of gluten.
Search Ask the Dietitian